What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger #2

What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You Stronger

I am a muscle that is torn every day
To rebuild into something greater

Something stronger.

I see the progress that is made after every tribulation
After every hardship, after every problem.

Someone stronger.

I feel the pain minimizing
The misery minimizing
The sadness minimizing.

Coming out stronger.

Strength in my soul grows
Developing my resilience
Into a bulletproof vest over my heart,
A force field around my entire being.

The bombs of life
The bombs thrown at me from others
The bombs thrown at myself, by myself
Will not eradicate my worth.

I have been told
What doesn’t kill you,
Makes you stronger.

I have been told
What doesn’t push you to the edge
Will only increase
Your threshold for pain
And raise that bar.

I have been told
What doesn’t make you give up completely,
Makes you feel proud for what
You have overcome.

I have been told
You grow with each put down you conquer.
You rise with each slap in the face you withstand.
You rebuild yourself.
Into a stronger self.
That can take on anything the world throws at you.

I have learned that what I have been told
Is true.
I have been
Triumphant.

Leave a Reply

