Why the Therapist Path?

d78ff024457b3f381062960fd55d1157

Throughout the past two years, since applying to college and my first year, I have received the questions “Why do you want to become a therapist so badly? And how can you be so sure it’s the right path for you?” My first response to this is that I do not know for sure that this will be the right path for me forever, but it is the right path for me right now. Right now, I know this is the path for me simply because I cannot imagine doing anything else with my life. Business, sales, law, medicine, fashion, journalism – all of these things are important in our society and some in my own life, but I do not feel as passionately about any of these as I do about helping others through the form of therapy.

I love to listen. I love to talk. I love to listen and talk with others about what is going on in their lives because I am genuinely interested (for the most part; if I’m not interested, I won’t ask). Therapy should be a conversation and collaboration between the client and the therapist. It should not be the therapist instructing and putting him or herself above the client, that is beyond unproductive. I want my clients to know and understand that I am not coming from a “high and mighty” approach. I am their ally and advocate in the therapeutic process.

There are a multitude of reasons that I want to become a helper, some that I can post publicly and some that I would rather not share on the internet. I want to help others – in short. I have a been through a lot and want to prevent others from suffering as I have – in short. I have a lot of experiences to draw from – in short. I know that there are many other ways to help people – volunteering, becoming a teacher, etc. But based on what I have both seen and experienced family values, interaction and dynamic-wise makes me really care about and want to help families and family members improve their lives, interactions, and relationships between family members. Family is forever. Family is permanent. We all only have one biological family. We can create family-like systems and have non-biologically related brothers, sisters, mothers, fathers, friends, etc. – but that does not change where we come from and our family of origin. Those people are always a part of our lives, whether they are active in it or not and whether we want them to be or not.

I am confident that at this point in my life, although I am young and have not yet finished my undergraduate career, the therapeutic and helping career is the path for me. Who knows if that will change at some point in my life because it might. But right now, this is the way the wind is blowing me.

Leave a Reply

